fbpx

i received a copy of the book from the author in exchange for an honest review.



lovely, dark and deep summary

It’s a beautiful day in autumn, and a little girl has gone missing…

She’s not the first.

Hannah Hendricks is the fourth child to disappear from the small town of Fallow Creek in the past two months. Search parties comb the woods and vigils are held, yet there is no trace of the missing children, as if they have vanished off the face of the earth.

Cassandra Reilly is certain there is magic involved, but few people trust the word of a witch, and fewer still want her help. As an outsider to the rest of the town, it seems there is little she can do – until Hannah’s parents arrive on her doorstep, begging for magical aid.

Cass is tired of doing nothing, but agreeing to help is more dangerous than she knows.

Something evil is at work in Fallow Creek, and if she isn’t careful, she’ll lead it back to her own door…

The first in a new fantasy series filled with mystery and magic, Lovely, Dark and Deep is perfect for fans of Silver and Bone and Stranger Things.

add lovely, dark and deep on goodreads!

you can check out my review of lovely, dark and deep here!

wicked walking summary

Something wicked this way comes…

After killing a monster and dragging herself home from another world, Cassandra Reilly has become more than a witch – she’s a hero. Sure, she can’t sleep through the night and she’s haunted by what she saw, but things should be looking up. Right?

Except something followed her out of the woods that day. And despite her best efforts – and the help of Merich, the handsome Fae Warden – Cass has failed to find any trace of it. Vanishing entities rarely bode well, but maybe no news is good news. And with a ticket out of town and her future on the horizon, Cass could really use a lucky break.

She’s not going to get one.

Available August 30th 2022, Wicked Walking continues Claudia Cain’s new spellbinding fantasy series, perfect for fans of Silver and Bone and Stranger Things.

add wicked walking on goodreads!

star rating

Rating: 5 out of 5.

wicked walking review

in this highly anticipated release, we return to the world of fallow creek. the creepy town where things just don’t go to plan. well, cass’ plan anyway. wicked walking doesn’t skimp on the creepiness, which is one thing i loved about lovely, dark and deep. i thoroughly enjoy a book that gives me goosebumps, makes me curl my toes, and has me peering over my shoulder every ten seconds.

in wicked walking, cassandra has decided to take it upon herself to save the residence of fallow creek. again. only this time, it’s from a creature that she unintentionally let loose in the world.

i found there was a little more romance in the sequel than in the prior book. i found this more believable and enjoyable as i found it gave the characters plenty of time to develop proper emotions for one another. (no insta love here!!)

and i can’t conclude this review without mentioning the cliffhanger. wHAT WAS THAT??? i now have to wait (for what feels like a long time!!!) to find out what happens next???? ms cain, how dare you????

with plenty of murder intrigue and supernatural creatures, wicked walking was a compelling sequel to lovely, dark and deep.

buy your copy now!

lovely dark and deep –

amazon | kobo | nook

wicked walking –

amazon | nook

6 Comments

  1. avatar

    lovely review!! the description and the cover itself gives me the chills but i will check this book out soon💖 amazing post as always!

    1. avatar

      thank you becky!! i’m in love with the covers, and really into the spooky stuff at the moment.

  2. avatar
    WendyW says:

    This series sounds wonderful. The cliffhanger sounds exciting, I hope you don’t have to wait too long for the next book.

    1. avatar

      i hope so too! thank you.

  3. avatar

    AHHBHBFDBHFDHD I KIND OF BASICALLY AM IN LOVE WITH THIS ALREADY??? because LETS TALK ABOUT COVERS AND HOW THESE ARE THE MOST STUNNING ONES IN ALL OF FOREVER??? i love them AND ALSO CREEPY BOOKS I NEED THIS also LOVE THE REVIEW SO SO MUCH!!

    1. avatar

      thank you, thank you!! i really hope you check these books out, they’re some of my favourites (and they’re written by a local /to me/ author!! which doesn’t happen a lot).

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: