fbpx

She knew her hand in marriage would be sold. She had no idea a fae prince was the buyer.


i received a free copy of a dance with the fae prince, by elise kova, in exchange for an honest review, thanks to book of matches media.



star rating

Rating: 5 out of 5.

a dance with the fae prince summary

Cinderella meets THE CRUEL PRINCE in this stand-alone fantasy romance about a human girl and her marriage to the prince of the fae.

She knew her hand in marriage would be sold. She had no idea a fae prince was the buyer.

Katria swore she’d never fall in love. She’s seen what “love” means through the cruelty of her family. So when she’s married off to the mysterious Lord Fenwood for a handsome price, all Katria wants is a better life than the one she’s leaving. Feelings are off the table.

But her new husband makes not falling in love difficult.

As their attraction begins to grow, so too do the oddities within her new life: strange rules, screams in the night, and attacks by fae that Katria never thought were real. When she witnesses a ritual not meant for human eyes, Katria finds herself spirited away to the land of Midscape.

Surviving the fae wilds as a human is hard enough. Katria must survive as a human who accidentally pilfered the magic of ancient kings — magic a bloodthirsty king is ready to kill her for in order to keep his stolen throne — and her new husband is the rightful heir in hiding.

The power to save the fae is in her hands. But who will save her from a love she vowed never to feel?

A Dance with the Fae Prince is a complete, *stand-alone novel*, inspired by the tales of Psyche and Eros, as well as Cinderella, with a “happily ever after” ending. It’s perfect for romantic fantasy readers who enjoyed A Court of Silver Flames and An Enchantment of Ravens. A Dance with the Fae Prince features a slow-burn romance and a swoon-worthy couple.

add a dance with the fae prince on goodreads!

a dance with the fae prince review

for those of you who don’t know, you don’t have to read a deal with the elf king prior to starting a dance with the fae prince. but yes, they’re set in the same world, with a dance with the fae prince being set after.

i loved this book. no. i adored this book. i didn’t think i could love a dance with the fae prince more than the first book, and boy i was wrong!

not only was the plot well written, but the characters and their romance was very well developed. (what more could you ask for???) i liked that everything just flowed, and nothing felt forced. i wasn’t bored for one moment, nor was i left wanting more. (who am i kidding, i need more!!)

as for the characters, i loved katria. i liked how strong willed and determined she was. i also really liked that she wasn’t going to let an arranged marriage ruin her future. (which luella, from a deal with the elf king, also did)

davien, on the other hand, was a perfectly written man – elise kova really knows how to write a good male! i really enjoyed that he was trying to makes things as comfortable for katria as he could, despite the fact that he didn’t have to.

my only concerns, is the romance. katria, i understood. her feelings were introduced slowly, and made sense. however, with davien, it felt very sudden. he didn’t like her, then at one point he did.

my second concern is his name. how are we supposed to pronounce it? i wish there was a little guide at the back of the book or something to make it easier.

i can’t wait for the next book!!

instagram | facebook | goodreadstwitter | bookbub | elise kova street team | author newsletter sign up

buy your copy now!

Paperback: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

Hardcover: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

12 Comments

  1. avatar

    Great review, I don’t read much fantasy, but this sure is tempting.

    1. avatar

      this series is easily one of my favorites!!

  2. avatar

    Glad to hear you enjoyed this one! I have her books on my tbr but haven’t picked them up yet. I do really love this cover. 😍

    1. avatar

      isn’t it gorgeous!!

  3. avatar

    I just finished this one and enjoyed it as well! Great review and I look forward to the next one in the series. 🙂

    1. avatar

      i’m glad you enjoyed it!

  4. avatar

    Great review! I’m really wanting to read this series.

    1. avatar

      i hope you do, and i hope you enjoy it!! i definitely recommend it.

  5. avatar

    I ADORE Elise’s books! Haven’t felt motivated to read this series yet, but now that I know each book stands on its own I may want to read them. Fabulous review Chelsea! 😍

    1. avatar

      thank you!! i hope you enjoy it when you read it. it’s definitely easier when you don’t have to keep track of each books progress.

  6. avatar

    It’s been a long time since I read a Kova book, but I like her books a lot. You don’t see many standalone fantasies, so I’m intrigued. Glad it was such a hit for you

    1. avatar

      i’d love it if there was more standalone fantasies out there!!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: